email me
This page was last updated on: March 22, 2011
Litchfield Hills Triathlon
Copyright 2011,
Collinsville Publishing Company
Connecticut Sports Online
Stories and links to sports news from the Nutmeg State
designed with Homestead

Race facts
8-time champion
Donna Kay-Ness, 1993-95, 1997, 1999-2001, 2009

3-time champion
Stan Moraski, Jr., Farmington, 1985-87

2-time champions
Abe Rogers, Burlington, Vt.,
Keith Casserly, Canton, N.Y.,
Recent results
2010 results
2009 results
2008 results
2007 results
2006 results
2005 results
2004 results
2003, race cancelled
2002 results
2001 results
2000 results
1999 results
Results 2010-06

Archived race coverage
From Connecticut Sports Online
2003: Poor road conditions cancel race
2002: Final race in Farmington
2001: Fog makes for confusion at race start

Race history
This triathlon began as the Farmington Valley Triathlon in 1985 based out of Bicentennial Park in Collinsville along the Farmington River near Canton's sewage treatment plant.

In 1988 and 1989, the swimming portion of the race was moved to Brodie Park and West Hill Pond in New Hartford with the bicycle transition at Mills Pond Park in Canton.

In 1990, the entire race moved to Brodie Park and was renamed the Greater Hartford Triathlon. In 1998, the race moved to Winding Trails in Farmington where it stayed until 2002. In 2003, the race was moved back to Brodie Park but was cancelled due to local road construction.

Since 2004, it was been held out of Brodie Park. In 2006, it was renamed the Litchfield Hills Triathlon.

For many years, the race was the USA Triathlon New England Regional championship race. From 1990-2002, it was the regional championship race.

2009 race
Sunday, August 23
Brodie Park, New Hartford
Swim: 1500 meters, Bike: 26.2 miles;
Run: 6.2 miles

NEW HARTFORD, Aug. 29, 2009 -- West Hartford's Thomas McWalters won the 2009 Litchfield Hills Olympic Triathlon by more than four minutes in 2:08.21. Second was John Anthony of Norwich in 2:11.47 while former Canton High and UConn soccer standout Karl Schilling of Canton took third in 2:14.41.

In the women’s division, Donna Kay-Ness of Somers broke the women’s course record of 2:22:52 by finishing in 2:20:54 and won the race for a record eighth time. She last won the race in 2001. Naugatuck's Cassandra Maximenko was second in 2:27.53 while Carlene Messinger of Upper Saddle River N.J. finished 3rd in 2:29.53. There were 214 athletes that finished the race.

Litchfield Hills Triathlon race information